Please help me remember - Is this from the movie or the book? Mafalda Hopkirk 05:18, 3 February 2008 (UTC)

Nonsense Spells

I don't think this spell should be categorized under nonsense spells. It did what the spell said, the object/person/animal was thrown into the air. Just because Gilderoy Lockheart used it in a useless way doesn't mean it's a nonsense spell, does it? This spell could be used by other witches and wizards to lift someone in the air when they can't reach something, to pass an obstacle, etc... --TheBook — (talk | contribs) 16:08, July 11, 2010 (UTC)

I agree. -Smonocco 16:36, July 11, 2010 (UTC)
Agreed and fixed. Just because Lockhart used it incorrectly doesn't make it nonsense. -JDRooDigger 12:51, August 8, 2011 (EST)


Can someone upload a moving picture of Lockhart using this spell? This isn't actually seen. And possibly move the current image elsewhere on the page? -- 18:48, August 28, 2012 (UTC)


I understand that the movie subtitles are the only resource that we have for the correct spelling of spells' incantations, but I'm actually a bit baffled that this is what it produced. It seems clear, to me at least, that Lockhart says something to the effect of "Volate Ascendere" (I think at least the presence of a V can be agreed on here), which would make sense, considering its etymology; Volate means "hurry" and ascendere means "to ascend", and could also be thought to mean "upwards". If we take it to be "Vola Te Ascendere", then it could be translated as "You fly upwards". Can an overide of the subtitles be allowed here? 01:46, June 30, 2013 (UTC)

No. We have set precedence on the matter of what the subtitles say vs. what any given viewer claims to hear on at least two other occasions (Repello Inimicum rather than Repello Inimigotum and Vera Verto rather than Fera Verto). Using any other spelling than what the subtitles (or another official source) transcribes it as is original research. -- 1337star (Drop me a line!) 01:59, June 30, 2013 (UTC)

Wrong spell

Doesn't it say that "instead of vanishing it flew ten feet in the air" so Lockhart said or did another spell incorrectly. Am I right? Also, if he cast it non-verbally how do we know how the incantation? You may argue that you got it from Hermione but she is much more competent so they probably weren't doing the same spell. Informous Charm III (talk) 05:57, November 30, 2015 (UTC) 

*Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, Fandom will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+